Databases
The library provides a diverse collection of online databases. Simply click on a database to be directed to the online database in question. If you are prompted for a library card number enter your full 14 digit number with no spaces. If your card is not a Margaret E. Heggan Free Public Library card or your card is expired or has fines you may be unable to access a database. Contact the library if you are unsure.
Database/Scholarly Article Terms and Definitions ▼
Peer Review
Peer Review is a process by which other scholars evaluate a work. The is a measure to ensure the accuracy of the data and the quality of the work, a means of self-regulating scholarly literature.
Full Text
If an article is provided by a database as Full Text it is available to read in its entirety on the database. The alternative is an abstract, where a citation is provided, informing the reader how to seek out the full article.
Jump to a Letter!
ABCmouse.com: From Age of Learning, Inc., the award-winning ABCmouse.com curriculum is designed to help young children (ages 2-6+) build a strong foundation for future academic success. ABCmouse.com is 100% educational, with 3,500+ learning activities across all major subject areas—reading, math, science, social studies, art, and music. Best of all, kids love it!
Accessible From: Library Only
EBSCO
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history.
Accessible From: Home & Library
NewsBank
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Accessible From: Home & Library
This collection of more than 4,000 databases including U.S. Federal Census images, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, and Federal Slave Narratives.
Accessible From: Library Only
Infobase
Focuses on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, Asia, and Islamic Empire from prehistory through the 1500s.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Facts on File
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle, high school, and junior college curriculum.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Features searchable full-text online databases covering a wide range of subjects.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Explora is EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
- Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
- Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
- Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
- Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
- Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
- Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
- Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Explora is EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
- Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
- Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
- Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
- Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
- Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
- Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
- Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Explora is EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
- Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
- Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
- Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
- Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
- Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
- Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
- Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Interdisciplinary, interactive databases on a wide range of subjects.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Provides profiles of nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, thousands of resource entries, and more!
Accessible From: Home & Library
ProQuest
Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Accessible From: Home & Library
NewsBank
Find archived information on issues and events, business, education, government, politics and more.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Gives clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Includes U.S. and Canadian Census Records, Revolutionary War Records, City Directories, Freedman’s Bank Records, U.S. Indian Census Rolls and over 28,000 Family Histories.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Bringing you hundreds of thousands of movies, full music albums, audiobooks and more, hoopla is a revolutionary digital service made possible by your local library.
From Hollywood blockbusters to bestselling artists and authors – not just the hits, but the niche and hard-to-find as well – you’ll soon discover that hoopla provides you the freedom you’ve been searching for to experience, explore and enjoy what you want, when you want, and where you want.
Simple to access and use, without the hassle of having to return the items you’ve borrowed, all you need is your library card, a web browser, smart phone or tablet to get started.
From Hollywood blockbusters to bestselling artists and authors – not just the hits, but the niche and hard-to-find as well – you’ll soon discover that hoopla provides you the freedom you’ve been searching for to experience, explore and enjoy what you want, when you want, and where you want.
Simple to access and use, without the hassle of having to return the items you’ve borrowed, all you need is your library card, a web browser, smart phone or tablet to get started.
Accessible From: Home & Library
JerseyClicks is New Jersey’s statewide portal for searching the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library, the New Jersey Library Network, and funds from the Library Services and Technology Act.
These high-quality databases cover subjects such as health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature, and popular fiction. The suite also includes Informe, our Spanish language full-text database. If you have Internet access you can search for high quality Internet age information 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
These high-quality databases cover subjects such as health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature, and popular fiction. The suite also includes Informe, our Spanish language full-text database. If you have Internet access you can search for high quality Internet age information 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
Accessible From: Home & Library
You are now able to search the holdings of the member libraries in the New Jersey Union Catalog and other participating online catalogs. Contact the Margaret E. Heggan Library for more information about ordering books, via interlibrary loan, from other libraries.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Watch over 30,000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films. On Desktop, Mobile and Roku for Students, Professors & Library Patrons.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Provides reference information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Mango for libraries offers over 70 world language courses expertly designed to adapt to a diverse range of learning needs, styles, and backgrounds. Give your community the benefits of lifelong learning and the confidence needed to communicate in a new language.
Accessible From: Home Recommended
EBSCO
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Medline Plus is the National Institutes of Health’s website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. Medline Plus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
An online reader’s advisory to fiction books. Keyword and subject access to thousands of children’s and adult fiction titles with full-text reviews.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
An online reader’s advisory to fiction books. Keyword and subject access to thousands of children’s and adult fiction titles with full-text reviews.
Accessible From: Home & Library
With a network of 18,000 libraries and millions of readers, OverDrive is the global leader in eBooks for libraries. Our support for iPod, iPhone, iPad, Android, Sony Reader, Kindle (US libraries only), and thousands of other mobile devices, makes our library platform the most compatible library download service. We also offer the largest collection of premium audiobooks, eBooks, music, magazines, and video for the library – all available on a single website for browsing, checking out, and downloading.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Gale
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Newsbank
Find information on topics related to business, health, education, government, politics and more.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Contains detailed information on more than 14 million US businesses, 210 million US residents, 855,000 US health care providers, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, and 12 million Canadian households.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Comprehensive Spanish-language database, offering content from a variety of sources including encyclopedias, images, health reports, Spanish-English dictionary, and full-text for over 100 reference books and dozens of magazines.
Accessible From: Home & Library
.gif)
EBSCO
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
Accessible From: Home & Library
NewsBank
Find information on community and state issues and events, business, education, government, sports and more.
Accessible From: Home & Library
EBSCO
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Accessible From: Home & Library
The TBL is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles, Read-Alongs (chapter books with sentence highlighting and narration but no animation), TumbleTV which consists of pre-set playlists of a sequence of books and Tumble Puzzles & Games. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which we have licensed from children’s book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Presents resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills from a trusted source.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Includes all articles from the print encyclopedia plus pictures, maps, videos, animations, sounds, panoramic 360° views, and links to editor-approved Web sites. Special features include content from the World Book Dictionary and the World Book Atlas, Today in History, Behind the Headlines, and Special Reports.
Accessible From: Home & Library
Infobase
Facilitates the study of countries, U.S. states, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills through a global approach.
Accessible From: Home & Library